Eddie Pepperell of England suffered another disqualification following a scoreboard error at the Qatar Masters.
The world number 63, 29, was the highest ranked player in the field and won the Qatar event in 2018.
But after noticing that his playing partner had scored incorrectly, he changed the wrong hole.
Pepperell was also disqualified for a dashboard error at the 2018 BMW International Open and in November ran out of balls at the Turkish Open.
Explaining his latest mishap, the Oxfordshire golfer, who had posted seven birdies in an eventful 71 level at the new Education City golf club designed by Jose Maria Olazabal, wrote on Twitter: “My total, 71, was correct and i have indeed signed for this.
“However, my partner dropped me for a five on a hole where I made a six, and a four on another, where I made three. I picked it up and changed the card to reflect the fact that I made a six on hole 11 as opposed to a five, and a three on hole 16 as opposed to a four.
“Then I mistakenly changed the 17th hole, not the 16th hole on my scorecard, and returned it.
“Therefore, that meant I was disqualified. Quite disappointing because I took the time to change the original error, only to make it more costly myself. I asked the referee if it affected my disqualification, but it doesn’t. “
“The rules are the rules and I accept it 100%, but I can’t help but think that this particular way of disqualifying is far from common sense, and it’s also disappointing.”