How to forget a network on a Mac – Digital Trends

0
How to forget a network on a Mac – Digital Trends

Most web-connected devices have the handy ability to remember which Wi-Fi networks you connect to daily, as well as which networks you connect to only occasionally. Macs and MacBooks are no exception to this rule, but what do you do if you own a macOS machine and want it to do this? forget a Wi-Fi network? Simple: manually delete it from your computer.

Clearing Wi-Fi information from your Mac’s memory is an easy task to accomplish, and we’ve created this guide to help you through the process. We’ve built our instructions around macOS Sonoma (the latest operating system), but the steps should apply to most versions of macOS.

How to forget a Wi-Fi network on macOS

Step 1: To get started, you must first launch System settings.

2nd step: Select Wireless from the left column.

screenshot / Digital Trends

Step 3: If you want your Mac to forget which Wi-Fi network it is currently connected to, click the button Details next to the network name. The Wi-Fi you are currently associated with will be listed right at the top of the dashboard.

Step 4: In this next pop-up window you will see the Forget this network button at the bottom left. Once you select this option, another pop-up will appear informing you that any devices linked to this network via iCloud Keychain will no longer be supported.

screenshot / Digital Trends

Step 5: If you just want your Mac to stop automatically connecting to this Wi-Fi network (but want it to remember), you can simply turn off the option Automatically join this network cursor at the top of this pop-up window.

If you still want to manually forget the network, go ahead and click Withdraw.

screenshot / Digital Trends

A second method

Step 1: Back on the Wi-Fi dashboard, your Mac will detect and list all the Wi-Fi networks it recognizes under the Known networks on your mind. If you want your Mac to forget one or all of these networks, click the button More button (ellipsis) to the right of each Wi-Fi name.

2nd step: THE Forget the network The button should be the last option in this drop-down list. Click on it, and if you want to say goodbye to this network, end it all by clicking on Withdraw.

Do this for each Wi-Fi network you want your Mac to forget.

screenshot / Digital Trends

A more advanced strategy

Step 1: If you want to see a list of all the Wi-Fi networks your Mac has Never connected, click Wirelessscroll to the bottom of the dashboard, then click Advance.

2nd step: To remove any of these saved networks from your Mac, simply click the button More button, then click Remove from the list.

screenshot / Digital Trends

Editors’ Recommendations






T
WRITTEN BY

Related posts